Posted by: Sean | November 8, 2012

Parkrun!

Thursday November 8, 201

Well it has been a busy October and my musings here have suffered.  It was a gentle prod from the one of the three people I know that read the blog, Bruce, that reminded me to check one of the posts I want to do off the to-do list and onto the interwebs.  Thanks for the poke Bruce, you reminded me how fast time flies…

So my least favourite exercise would have to be running.  Well even below least favourite, as I am so bad at it…  My brother is tall, lean and was a gun runner through his youth.  I look like a pint of Guinness, and run with less ability than said pint.  So I have always had a nagging thought in my mind, why am I so bad at this, why can’t I learn to run a bit and do some fun runs, though I have done a couple including one I posted about a little over a year ago.

Well, one Friday evening as I was scanning through my email, I saw a note in our local councillors newsletter referencing Park Run, and it sounded like a great concept, and only a 15 min walk around the corner.

Ready for the start

The idea behind parkrun (read the link for the accurate description), is that it is a worldwide, weekly, timed, 5km run, free and run by volunteers.  You register online, and get a bar code, which you scan at the end of the race, and your time is uploaded to their website.

Listening to the briefing session (Don’t know this person, though may have met on my 2nd?? run) 

So fast forward 2 or so months, and I have 6 runs under my belt, and I have a lesser hate for running.  Still a hate though…  I started out wanted to be able to run 6 min k’s, and have been able to achieve that.  I am a little competitive, so it is a great way for me to try and push to better my time, on the same circuit – something that I haven’t consistently achieved, which may have something to do with it being stage at 7 AM Saturday morning…

The organisers, Alan and Roisin have done such a superb job in bringing together the organisation required to run the event.  Whilst I have only spoke with them a few times, they are very warm and welcoming people, and a tip of the hat to you both!

So much enthusiasm at the start

As the event for me is just around the corner, it has given me a chance to meet others who live on the area, in in one case, a couple of doors up, (Hey Paul if you ever find this).  It does have a real communal feel about it, and I like it!  I managed to get team Kelly to one event during school holidays, so the 4 of us register and set out on the day, though mother hen was more interested in walking the (not quite complete) course. As a side note, on this day I kept an eye out for the 3 of them, but couldn’t see Ryan at the turn around point, and I would later realise, that he was right on my shoulder.

Since starting, our friends,  Team Gill, have been heading down with ever more frequency!  It’s great to catch up with a chat prior, and make red faced, hand gestures after the run.

Josh coming in to the finish line, fresh as a daisy

Before my run last week, I commented to Sue that I have not done a run yet, that I whilst running,  haven’t thought any / all of these:

  • I reckon I could stop about now;
  • why am I doing this; or
  • just walk for a bit…

She was a little surprised, but it is a fact, and one that (maybe) one day won’t be in my mind.  I have heard about the “runner’s high” that some people experience, and if I am honest, I do feel particularly good walking down, prior to the start, 3 minutes into the run, 3 minutes after the run…

Nick left nothing out there!

Happy to say that I have run start to finish, every one, including the misinformed weet-bix before race incident, and the only thing getting me there was my playlist list dragging me along.  I have a ritual to pick the songs, and the order of them being played, to get me through the euphoria of the start.

When I realise I don’t have to run any more

A note that all pics for this post are from the Wynnum Park Run Facebook page

Whilst I will attend all the runs I can, this month is a particularly crazy one, but if the public transport gods align, I will attend the Melbourne run next weekend.  This month has our gang (in no particular order), and only what comes to mind as I hastily write this:

  • Ryan’s award for academic excellence
  • Day on the green
  • Break up at school (3 people)
  • Nana (my mum) out of hospital
  • 1st day of 1st Cricket test at the gabba
  • 2 Radiohead concerts
  • Potted Potter play

Today’s song of the day is the first song from my current park run play list, Pnau - Embrace. This song gets me in the mood to think I can run 1 minute without stopping… I love Lady Hawke’s voice, and it is a great matchup with the Pnau boys! This is a definitely a cross over song for Sue and I. Not many are…


Responses

  1. Hi Sean. I’m thinking about doing some running to get a little condition back after all the lolling on hospital benches. I’m thinking REALLY hard! Do you think that’s a start?

  2. Mrs Catch, that is definitely a start! I went through that phase for a few years :)


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

