Lovely day on the water

Saturday 11 June, 2016

One of the unexpected benefits of joining in with the local Wynnum parkrun, was meeting people of the community that you wouldn’t normally get a chance to chat with.  The common experience of puffing out a 5k on Saturday morning, allows you to go up to someone you don’t know and say “gday, how did you go this morning?” and barriers drop away, and you are conversing with great people.

Why the preamble, when the title says something about boats you ask. Good question!

Well after I got home from parkrun, I had a hankering to get on the water, and I recalled a kind offer from Kurt, that I could borrow his kayak anytime.  I hit him up, and he said no problem, and then added did I want to come boating with a few others?  I didn’t want to be a third wheel, and said as much, but the offer remained if I could be ready by 9:30.  I asked if there was room for Tegan as well (yes there was) and I promptly woke her and asked if she wanted to head out on a boat.  “Will we fish?” were the first bleary words from her.

There were going to be a couple of boats, and John was taking his jetski for a strap as well.  Great crew, should be good fun!

IMG_4322

IMG_4320

John and Joey with hot beverages in hand

IMG_4321Tegan keen to get out there
IMG_4329

Maiden voyage for Mark & Liz’s boat
IMG_4327
IMG_4325
Heading towards Peel Island, Dolphins were spotted and we backed off the speed, and cruised about spotting a pod feeding on bait fish.

 

IMG_4333Joey and Tegan spotting for Dolphins


Dolphins!

We then headed into Horseshoe Bay, Peel Island.

IMG_4335

IMG_4340IMG_4339

John took me for a run, and let me have a drive of his wave ski, so much fun, and the speed gets to 80km/h in no time!

IMG_4350

Verne took Tegan for blat on John’s ride.

IMG_4342

Tegan and Verne when they we both dry

IMG_4348

In the drink

Fancy having the video going…

IMG_4349

Winter, huh…

We had a feed, chat and pulled anchor to head off.

IMG_4338



IMG_4352
Heading back to the boat ramp, ready for that snooze the clean, salt air brings on.
IMG_4366
IMG_4358

no fish today, but there is talk of a next time

An unexpected highlight of the trip, was the slow cruising over shallow sandbanks.  We got to see turtles, stingrays, starfish and a shovel nose ray. No dugongs this time.IMG_4355

Sounder told us dugongs and turtles in the area, go slow

IMG_4354

Spotters


IMG_4362

Starting to cool down a little

IMG_4363

IMG_4369

IMG_4371

 

IMG_4373

Such a fantastic day out spent with Tegan and friends. As I write this I am working on how a boat may be in our future, and how to bring that future forward…

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment